Would someone create an electron snap for this forum?

It would be really cool to be able to use this forum standalone in a webapp so you do not need to dig in a million of tabs in your browser for it …

Would anyone be willing to roll an electron snap package for it ?

3 Likes

Haha, agreed. I could make the electron app, I’m still learning to snap electron apps up.

Here it is @ogra, let’s snap it up! Edit: Helps if I include the link.

4 Likes

It is done!

To install use:

sudo snap install snapcraft-forum --edge

2 Likes

Installed and using it now :smiley:

1 Like

perfect ! posted from your app :slight_smile:

1 Like

@ryanleesipes Didn’t work here:

You’re not the first one. I can’t replicate on my machine. Any ideas @Wimpress on what is going on here? Anything to do with the snap side of things?

@niemeyer this seems to be the bug you are encountering…?
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/17202741/why-does-mmap-fail-with-permission-denied-for-the-destination-file-of-a-file-c

I don’t know… can’t dig in right now but will try to check later.

@elopio when you get a chance, can you check to see if you get that same error. I know it wasn’t loading properly for you.

I get many of these apparmor denials:

= AppArmor =
Time: Mar 31 11:43:32
Log: apparmor=“ALLOWED” operation=“file_mmap” profile=“snap.snapcraft-forum.snapcraft-forum” name="/dev/shm/.org.chromium.Chromium.VptaMT" pid=5384 comm=“Chrome_IOThread” requested_mask=“m” denied_mask=“m” fsuid=1000 ouid=1000
File: /dev/shm/.org.chromium.Chromium.VptaMT (write)
Suggestion:

• adjust program to create files and directories in /dev/shm/snap.$SNAP_NAME.*

Using the snap in --devmode works for me. I’m in zesty:

$ snap version
snap    2.23.1+17.04
snapd   2.23.1+17.04
series  16
ubuntu  17.04
kernel  4.10.0-14-generic

that might be the issue here, i’m on xenial