Rocket.Chat Desktop snap

Wasn’t sure if I should post here or your Rocket.Chat instance. But just released our Desktop app to the snap store. We would love to get feedback.

Code: https://github.com/RocketChat/Rocket.Chat.Electron/tree/add-snap using electron-builder

Install via:
sudo snap install rocketchat-desktop --candidate

Right now I have it behind the candidate flag, will be bumping it over to stable after a bit more testing.

I’ve tested so far under:
Ubuntu 16.04
Fedora 25 - Gnome

Both seemed to work.

Thanks!

6 Likes

Just installed it, trying it now! :slight_smile:

1 Like

This is really awesome! Exactly the kind of thing I need to use it more often (I’m not good at keeping loads of tabs alive)

Great work. I’m using it now. Only issue I have is the indicator seems broken in Unity. Is that a known bug you’re working on?

Hi geekgonecrazy,

I see the Indicator icons are broken. This can be resolved why hand creating a snapcraft.yaml but electron-builder doesn’t have a means to modify the command: stanza. So I’ve raised this bug with electron-builder:

@Wimpress thanks for pointing to the issue. I’ve released an updated version where i’ve manually included the environment variable.

One thing i’m unsure if we can address is it seems to be using Xorg icons and fonts instead of Ubuntu’s. Is there a known way of handling that?

1 Like

Works fine on Ubuntu Gnome :wink:

@geekgonecrazy how are you managing icons? Yours work fine in Ubuntu GNOME. But my Electron applications don’t show up in the dock.

@ryanleesipes it works in a 17.04 gnome here

Seems to be related to this field:

https://github.com/RocketChat/Rocket.Chat.Electron/blob/add-snap/package.json#L24

The icon shows up properly?

yup, in a 17.04 ubuntu gnome install in a VM that i played with on the weekend …