Request for auto-connection of cups-control for Brave

Hi,

I’m an engineer at Brave and I’d like to request auto-connection for cups-control for the Brave browser package.

This has been requested by users (https://github.com/brave/brave-browser/issues/13565#issuecomment-839626277) and also granted to other browsers (Firefox, Chromium).

Thanks.

1 Like

cups-control provides both the ability to print AND to configure printers so this is not normally auto-connected. However, there is the cups interface which can allow just printing but this is still a bit of a work-in-progress. We have a precedent of other browsers auto-connecting cups-control (firefox and chromium come to mind) as this is quite a standard workflow for most users. As such, +1 from me for auto-connect of cups-control for brave - can I please ask that once the cups interface is more complete that brave would move to this instead?

+1 from me for auto-connect cups-control to brave. +2 votes for, 0 votes against, granting auto-connect of cups-control to brave. This is now live.

Thanks!

@alexmurray regarding a potential future switch from cups-control to cups - I do see value in the distinction - some software only needs to print - but a browser could reasonably be used to add a new printer. Especially these days, when office suites run in the browser, rather than as separate standalone applications.

The first time a user wants to print something, before a printer is added, is not unlikely to be in a browser. The dialogs displayed will include an option to manage printers, so if that doesn’t work, it will be perceived as a bug (especially given the lack of a specific error message explaining the lack of permissions).

If the average snap user understood plugs and how they need to connect them manually sometimes (and how to actually do it), that would be fine. But it seems the average user isn’t even aware that they’re running a snap version of the browser…