Is the author of a package verified?

Hi everyone!

I’m new with snaps and so far I’m a bit confused… I wanted to install signal-desktop from the ubuntu snap store (it is also featured here: https://snapcraft.io/signal-desktop). There I saw that the developer is “snapcrafters”. But if you click on the link “Contact Snapcrafters” you are linked to the official signal github repo, which doesn’t mention “snapcrafters”. Regarding “snapcrafters” I found the forum post on “join snapcrafters”(sorry can’t post the link, since new users can only post two links). So I checked their github site (https://github.com/snapcrafters) and their repositories do not mention signal-desktop. Also I cannot find further information about the developer on the snap site.

So my questions are: Can anyone just set his developer name freely? Are they somehow verified? Where can I find the sourcecode for the built signal-desktop snap?

Thanks a lot for your help!

2 Likes

Sorry for the confusion.

The idea behind snapcrafters is we have a place (on github) where we can collect the snapcraft.yamls for projects which are currently not owned by the upstream project. Sometimes upstream don’t want to distribute a snap because they have a policy of not distributing binary builds, some just don’t have the time to get involved in it. We put them in snapcrafters so they can still be made available with automated builds.

Snapcrafters uses the build service - build.snapcraft.io under the covers. So we add a yaml (and maybe some scripts / metadata ) to a repo, hook that up to build and it gets regularly built and pushed to the store. Build is great for that use case.

In the case of Signal, it doesn’t build like that. Signal is an Electron application which is built using electron-builder. Build doesn’t (currently) cater to that use case. We’ve requested that build be able to create snaps out of electron applications easily, and the team will work on that as appropriate with their other tasks.