Helmfile: Classic Confinement?

Hi,

I’m trying to build a snap for https://github.com/roboll/helmfile

This in theory is pretty easy because it’s just a static binary but I think it might need Classic confinement, much like the snap for Helm itself. However I’m new to building snaps so I’m happy to be told I’m wrong.

From my understanding of the tool it needs access to yaml files in the directory you run the command in. It also needs permissions to run Helm. It may also need additional access to hidden directories storing Helm configuration in the user’s home directory but I’m not certain about that.

I’ve got a snap with classic confinement working and building: https://github.com/cablespaghetti/helmfile-snap/blob/master/snap/snapcraft.yaml

However immediately when I try and run with strict confinement I don’t have permissions to access files in the working directory of the command, and I can’t see an interface which obviously looks like it will solve this.

edit: Added the home plug and solved that problem but now I can’t find a way to be able to execute Helm (from the Helm snap) unless I bundle my own version of Helm.

Thanks
Sam

If you need to run binaries on the host system, you will need classic confinement. Can you explain why you can’t include helm in the snap? That would be the recommended way.

I can’t include Helm in the snap without having the same problems explained here, which caused the Helm snap to switch to classic confinement: Classic confinement for existing Helm snap

Also I don’t think in this case it would be a good user experience even if it could work due to the way these Kubernetes tools share configuration in .kube/config for example.

With classic confinement I can install kubectl, helm and helmfile separately and use the release channel I want for each tool e.g. kubectl 1.15, helm 2.16 branch. This is often desirable.

1 Like

Hi there.

FYI, today I’ve created a working snap for helmfile: helmfile-snap