Grafana-Agent: Permission Request

Hi,

This is my first time asking for a store request, so bear with me if it is a bit lacking. I’m currently in the process of snapping the grafana-agent. This will later be used as a foundation for a machine charm, similar to the current k8s charm.

To allow for node_exporter, ebpf and similar integrations to work, it needs some bespoke permissions. While I could have opted for a classic snap, I really think it makes sense for the snap to not get more permissions than it actually needs.

The permissions I’m requesting are:

• network-bind
  • time-control
  • hardware-observe
  • mount-observe
  • network-observe
  • system-observe

All of these are needed to be able to fetch all of the telemetry we need to make this useful, as made clear by prior art through the existing strictly confined node_exporter snap. In addition, some paths not available in the system-observe plug is needed, which resulted in a bespoke plug telemetry:

telemetry:
    interface: system-files
    read:
      - /var/log
      - /proc/mdstat
      - /proc/schedstat
      - /proc/sys/kernel/random

Likely this wasn’t the case back when the existing node_exporter charm was created, but as of now, node_exporter won’t be able to generate all metrics without it.

In addition to these permissions, I would like for the permissions to be auto-connected, as the software doesn’t make sense without them being present.

Link to the snap: https://snapcraft.io/grafana-agent

Thanks in advance, Simme

+1 from me for auto-connect of the following interfaces as these are required by the grafana-agent snap for it to operate as expected:

network-bind
time-control
hardware-observe
mount-observe
network-observe
system-observe

Regarding the requested system-files interface - can you be more specific? /var/log/ should be accessible via the log-observe inteface, and parts of /proc/sys/kernel/random are already in the base template for all snaps.