Error installing musescore on ChromeOS

Hi, all. I am trying to install MuseScore on a Chromebook with the new Chrome OS 80 (so, Debian Stretch). (Edit: oops … Buster, not Stretch, it was Stretch in Chrome OS 79) I have a Lenovo C330, which is ARM-64 bit, not Intel. I ran the “sudo snap install musescore” from the terminal, and after a bunch of activity I get this error message:

error: cannot perform the following tasks:

• Download snap “core” (8691) from channel “stable” (unexpected EOF)

I’m a Linux newbie and my ignorance cannot be exaggerated – I know nothing. Is that error on the Snap side or on the MuseScore side? Should I be posting over there, or might someone here be able to help?

Thanks a million

1 Like

anyone? does this error make sense to someone? Over on the Musescore forum they said to ask here. Thanks all.

I’m the maintainer of the MuseScore snap, but I don’t have any Chromebook, so I’m not really sure about this, but I would bet that it’s a problem with snap running on Chrome OS (didn’t even know that was possible). Did you try installing other snaps?

Thanks for answering, Marc. Yes, Chrome OS 80 (just released) runs Debian Buster (containerized, if that makes sense).

[Edited to remove a link to an outside article – was that why it was flagged?]

I have not installed any other snaps. Never done anything with Linux. Can you recommend a little one I could use as a tester?

Look, I just tried to post another reply with the error messages I get when trying to install another snap, to test out the process, and somebody flagged it – multiple users flagged it, it says, with no explanation of what I said wrong. Now I’ve gone and deleted it, but this is making me feel even more handicapped in trying to figure out the issue. What’s up?

did you see: