Classic confinement request: avdl

Hello,

I’d like to ask for the classic confinement for the snap avdl. It is a compiler for the programming language of the same name. It is meant to be used in a way like the gcc and similar compilers, where the user is passing a filename in the command-line to compile.

I also plan to upload games made with this language, using this snap as dependency, and from what I’ve tried so far, this is only possible with “classic” confinement.

The snap can be found here: https://snapcraft.io/avdl
The first version with “classic” confinement is version 0.0.4-2.

I’m still learning about snaps. Let me know if there’s any alternative option I may have missed. From what I’ve read, compilers are for the most part meant to have this request.

As per the Process for reviewing classic confinement snaps, compilers are a supported use-case for classic confinement, however not all compilers necessarily need classic confinement - if all the files that the compiler consumes are say located within a users project directory then perhaps strict confinement with the home interface may be sufficient. Can you please outline why avdl requires classic confinement, or perhaps another way, what fails if you use strict confinement?

if all the files that the compiler consumes are say located within a users project directory then perhaps strict confinement with the home interface may be sufficient.

This is correct. For a typical use-case, if the user decides to compile files located in their home directory, the avdl compiler will only read the files pass on to the compiler, and create compiled files in the same directory.

Can you please outline why avdl requires classic confinement, or perhaps another way, what fails if you use strict confinement?