Call for testing: Ardour

I’ve released a Snap of Ardour onto the Snap Store, for all the FLOSS music producers out there.

Currently requires you to allow permissions to all Audio interfaces & USB, but having them connect automatically is in progress.

It’s available here: Install Ardour on Linux | Snap Store

Until the auto-connect request is taken care of, you will have to manually allow permissions via sudo snap connect or the Snap Store interface for proper functionality.

It should also be possible to load plugins into Ardour, placed in these locations:

• ~/snap/ardour-snap/common/ladspa
  • ~/snap/ardour-snap/common/lv2
  • ~/snap/ardour-snap/common/lxvst

Please test it and let me know what you think.

I have never used Ardour before. Here are my comments:

you should add in the description something like : To connect a snap to the ALSA interface, run the following command: $ sudo snap connect <snap name>:alsa

Strange to not be able to run the app from ‘snap run ardour-snap’ (but OK from ‘snap run ardour-snap.ardour’).

Maybe this debug log can be interresting for you (Ubuntu 24.04):

WARNING: Your system has a limit for maximum amount of locked memory!
         This might cause Ardour to run out of memory before your system runs
         out of memory. You can view the memory limit with 'ulimit -l', and it
         is normally controlled by /etc/security/limits.conf

WARNING: Could not check your glib-2.0 for mutex locking atomic operations.

Ardour8.7.0 (built using 8.7 and GCC version Ubuntu Clang 14.0.0)
Ardour: [INFO]: Your system is configured to limit Ardour to 1048576 open files
Ardour: [INFO]: Loading system configuration file /snap/ardour-snap/2/usr/etc/ardour8/system_config
Ardour: [INFO]: Loading user configuration file /home/me/snap/ardour-snap/2/.config/ardour8/config
Ardour: [INFO]: CPU vendor: GenuineIntel
Ardour: [INFO]: AVX capable processor
Ardour: [INFO]: AVX with FMA capable processor
Ardour: [INFO]: AVX512F capable processor