Waybar snap for ubuntu: need help troubleshooting dependencies

Hello all I am trying to build a waybar snap for ubuntu sway but I am running into dependency issues and I would appreciate any assistance. I am still rather new to building snaps and my background is not in software dev so I may have made a number of silly mistakes…

I am currently stuck at with an error about libffi not being found but I am sure there will be a number of other problems to follow.

undefined reference to symbol ‘ffi_type_void@@LIBFFI_BASE_8.0’ ‘’’

Here is the yaml file for the snap.

name: waybar # you probably want to 'snapcraft register <name>'
base: core22 # the base snap is the execution environment for this snap
version: '0.1' # just for humans, typically '1.2+git' or '1.3.2'
summary: Wayland bar for Sway. # 79 char long summary
description: |
  Highly customizable Wayland bar for Sway and Wlroots based compositors.

grade: devel # must be 'stable' to release into candidate/stable channels
confinement: devmode # use 'strict' once you have the right plugs and slots

parts:
    build-deps:
        plugin: nil
        build-packages:
        - ninja-build
        - pkg-config # needed for the build to find wayland-client
        - libboost-filesystem-dev
        - libfreetype6-dev
        - libwayland-dev
        - libxkbcommon-dev
        - g++
        - make
        - libffi8
        - libffi-dev

waybar:
        source: https://github.com/Alexays/Waybar.git
        source-type: git
        source-tag: "0.9.16"
        plugin: meson
        stage-packages:
        - libffi8
        - libffi-dev
        - gobject-introspection
        - libharfbuzz-bin
        - libxkbregistry-dev
        - libgtkmm-3.0-dev
        - libfreetype6
        - fonts-freefont-ttf

apps:
    waybar:
        command: /usr/local/bin/waybar
        plugs:
        - x11
        - wayland

Hi, I use Waybar with Mir so I would also interested in this snap.