Support for macOS

I am new to the Linux community (recent macOS convert) and was wondering if anyone thinks it could be possible to have snap support on macOS?

It could be an alternative to Homebrew with confinement being a huge plus. In my ideal world we would have a big chunk macOS Homebrew formula maintainers working on crossplatform CLI type snaps! Reality is probably slightly different but it would be huge, wouldn’t it?

Given my limited technical understanding I suppose the host OS needs LXD support which macOS doesn’t have, correct?

4 Likes

LXD isn’t used by snapd. However, snapd does leverage a lot of Linux-specific container functionality, which simply doesn’t exist in any other operating system. So making it available on another OS would require at least offering a build of user-mode Linux that operates on top of that operating system. More realistically, virtualization technology would probably be used to support it.

But ultimately, Linux needs to run somehow to make snaps work.

Snappy requires features offered by the Linux kernel. The best bet for running universal applications is to use the hypervisor framework to create a virtual environment.

1 Like

Docker works on Darwin, isn’t there a way?

I remember a guy on irc offering to get it to work on bsd and mac but kyrofa had to refuse because there was a lot of other things happening atm.

Well if they were able to do it without snappy devs’ help then that wouldn’t be an issue? :slight_smile: Or if they were a snappy dev themselves then I guess it would’ve been decided as too low a priority… if you could persuade people to Like these posts then that might show more support for the idea?

Do you know of one? :stuck_out_tongue: Actually, that does seem to use a hypervisor framework as zyga said

1 Like

I think you all might be conflating having snapcraft work on a platform, and having snapd working on a platform.