Snapcraft Network Error (seemingly with all Core22)

Hey All,

I’m just starting out with Snapcraft and am unfortunately encountering a seemingly simple issue that I’m having problems resolving. To get started, I’ve begun experimenting with some tutorials laid out in the documentation. In particular, I’m starting with the ROS2 example (https://snapcraft.io/docs/ros2-applications). Every time I try to build the snap, I get this error:

File "/snap/snapcraft/8931/lib/python3.8/site-packages/craft_providers/bases/buildd.py", line 617, in _setup_apt
    _execute_run(executor, ["apt-get", "update"], verify_network=True)
  File "/snap/snapcraft/8931/lib/python3.8/site-packages/craft_providers/bases/buildd.py", line 135, in _execute_run
    raise NetworkError() from exc

Now an important note is I’m only encountering this error with Core22 variation of this snap. I tested the core20 release and that seems to work fine (ignoring the gpg keyserver error I see but that is a separate problem). I also tested the DOSbox example which uses Core18 and that was able to successfully generate a snap.

Curious to know if anyone has any idea what is causing this or if anyone has a solution? I am on snapcraft 7.3.1 for reference. Also, here is the full stack trace:

xps:~/ros2-talker-listener-core22$ snapcraft
Launching instance... | (48.3s)                                                                                                                                            Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/snap/snapcraft/8931/lib/python3.8/site-packages/craft_providers/bases/buildd.py", line 130, in _execute_run
    proc = executor.execute_run(
  File "/snap/snapcraft/8931/lib/python3.8/site-packages/craft_providers/lxd/lxd_instance.py", line 289, in execute_run
    return self.lxc.exec(
  File "/snap/snapcraft/8931/lib/python3.8/site-packages/craft_providers/lxd/lxc.py", line 410, in exec
    return runner(final_cmd, **kwargs)  # pylint: disable=subprocess-run-check