Snap that deploy a Docker image

Hi all,
I’m new to Snap and trying to create a snap that pulls and run my Docker image on Docker.
And if it possible to bundle the Docker inside the snap so the users won’t need to install Docker or know it’s necessary.

Do you have some examples that I can look as a reference?

Additionally, I found 2 interfaces relevant to Docker: docker interface and docker-support interface.
But I can’t understand from the description what can I perform with each one of them. Can you elaborate more details?

Thanks!

You should not need to use the docker-support interface at all. The docker interface will provide access to the Docker daemon socket to allow you to start and stop containers. You will need to either use the docker-executables content interface from the Docker snap or ship the relevant utilities or libraries you need to interact with Docker. An example of using the docker-executables interface is below (though I haven’t tested the correctness of it you should get a good idea of how it works):

plugs:
  docker-executables:
    interface: content
    target: $SNAP/docker-exes
    default-provider: docker:docker-executables

apps:
  my-app:
    command: ...
    plugs:
    - docker
    - docker-executables

Hi @lucyllewy,
Really appreciate your help!

Found the following dockerized-app-snap repository on GitHub which really helped me to create a Snap that run a dockerzied app through the content-interface shared by the docker snap.

Attached my snapcraft.yaml for anyone who trying to do something similar:

name: my-app
version: '1.0.0'
summary: |
  my-app Summary
description: |
  Some my-app Description.

grade: devel
confinement: strict

plugs:
  docker-cli:
    interface: docker
  docker-executables:
    content: docker-executables
    default-provider: docker
    target: docker-env

parts:
  environment:
    plugin: dump
    source: ./src/
    organize:
      'docker-wrapper' : bin/

apps:
  my-app: