Snap name and classic confinement for Warp terminal

Hi there!

I’m an engineer working on the Warp terminal (https://warp.dev) - I’m currently setting up our various distribution mechanisms for Linux, including making it available through the Snap Store.

I tried registering the snap name warp, but got an error saying “The snap name “warp” is reserved.”. https://snapcraft.io/warp returns a 404, so it’s not clear whether the name is taken by a private snap or it’s something that could be granted upon request. If the latter, I’d be happy to explain why I am “confident nobody else will have a stronger claim to that particular name”.

Additionally, my understanding is that we’ll want to use classic confinement for our Snap - is this accurate? I expect to have a Snap built and ready for a more formal review by early next week, but wanted to get a head-start on the process.

Thanks!

– David

1 Like

Hey @david-warpdotdev ,

I believe the issue here is that the store prevents snaps to be registered with names consisting of 3 letter (only). But @verterok or @odysseus-k can provide further information.

Can you please describe the technical requirements behind this? Classic confinement is a last resource. It means the snaps runs basically unconfined and thus provides device ownership. We exercise due diligence in trying to understand application intent, user expectations, etc to make sure the application can run with the least privileges possible meanwhile enjoying the benefits of a stable runtime environment. Strictly confined snaps can usually achieve their functionality by plugging some of the supported interfaces. This guide should help with debugging the snap and try to detect missing interfaces.

If this still does not work for Warp Terminal, make sure you check the process-for-reviewing-classic-confinement-snaps.

Hey @emitorino! Thanks for the quick response.