SNAP method to remove auto updates

hi There, I am new to SNAP and have a question regarding the enforced updates. I am running FRR and after some reading can see that it is not possible to fully control any updates other than specifying a time which i believe has to be within a certain period… Basically i want to stop any updates which looks to go against the grain of SNAP though want to understand any options;

So, my question is what are the possibilities and drawbacks of the below two options;
1, install the SNAP in devmode which will stop updates, but i guess this is not good to run in a production environment if it isn’t fully isolated.

2, is it possible to download a SNAP and rename so that when a refresh happens it doesn’t find it in the snap store hence not update available?

Thanks in advance …

There’s a bunch of ways to shoot yourself in the foot. Here’s some, none of which I recommend:

1. snap install foo --devmode
    +ve - it’s not going to auto-update
    +ve - refresh can be forced with snap refresh foo
    -ve - no automatic security updates
    -ve - no confinement
  2. snap download foo && snap install foo.snap --dangerous
    +ve - app is confined
    -ve - refresh cannot be forced with snap refresh foo
    -ve - no automatic store assertions (some interfaces not auto-connected)
  3. snap download foo && snap ack foo.assert && snap install foo.snap
    +ve - app is confined
    +ve - refresh can be forced with snap refresh foo
  4. Rebuild snapd itself to disable (or lengthy postpone) updates
    +ve - it’s not going to auto-update any application
    +ve - apps are still confined
    +ve - refresh of all apps can be forced with snap refresh foo
    -ve - all applications are prevented from auto-update
    -ve - no auto-updates for snapd itself
    -ve - no auto-updates for core and platform snaps

That’s just off the top of my head.

1 Like