Snap login, snapcraft login, and Ubuntu Core

Hi!

I’ve been using and creating snaps for a few years now, but I never used the snap login or snapcraft login commands.

After searching the forum and the documentation and reading the help and man pages, I think they work the following way:

snap login

• authenticates with snapd and the store (for installing snaps from the store)
  • stores credentials in ~/.snap/auth.json
  • allows installing snaps without sudo; only if the user is also in some specific groups
  • allows finding/installing/refreshing private snaps
  • enables purchasing snaps

snapcraft login

• authenticates with the store (for publishing snaps in the store)
  • allows registring snap names
  • uploading and releasing snaps to the store
  • and other snap building and releasing functions

These “logins” are independent of each other. The snap login only allows to “consume” snaps that are already released in the store. To release or modify anything within the store, you have to use snapcraft and snapcraft login.

Over the years, I also have set up multiple Ubuntu Core 18 and 20 devices using the “prebuild” images provided by Canonical [1] in the following way:

1. flash the image onto the device
  2. boot up the device
  3. enter my email address during setup to fetch and install my SSH key automatically
  4. SSH into the device
  5. install and configure the necessary snaps
  6. give the device to a third party

As this process never asks for my Ubuntu One password, I thought this only fetches the SSH keys and creates a local user named the same as my Ubuntu One username. The SSH key and the Ubuntu One username are both publicly available information on Launchpad.

However, I recently stumbled across a post within this forum (I think it was by Oliver Grawert) stating that setting up an Ubuntu Core device this way also logs you into the snap command as if you would manually call snap login.