Snap from .jar

How to snap a jar file?
I am new to snapcraft. When I create a snap it shows “Error: Unable to access jarfile”. I search lot but it didn’t work. some one give me a example for creating snapcraft.yaml file.

1 Like

Hi Siva.

I have a snap package published in the store and it is a Java application. The code is published on Bitbucket. This is the link, so you can check the snapcraft.yaml file and the rest of the structure. I hope this helps!!

https://bitbucket.org/eloy_garcia_pca/wallpaperdownloader/src/master/snap/

Cheers.

hi, I am new to snap. this example is difficult to me, can you give me some simple snap.

Are you using maven to manage the Java application?

If you are, then wallpaperdownloader part should be very similar. The maven plugin will install java and maven during the build process and then will execute maven to build the jar file against the code stored within the source path. The jar will be placed in $SNAP_USER_DATA $SNAP/jar/ path, so you will have to create a simple script like this https://bitbucket.org/eloy_garcia_pca/wallpaperdownloader/src/master/snap/scripts/bin/wallpaperdownloader.sh to launch the application.

If you check this script you’ll see desktop-launch wrapper which will be used because this application is a graphical application and desktop-launcher provides some nice integration between the snap and the desktop. You can see this integration within the snapcraft.yaml file in line after: [desktop-gtk3].

If you are new to snapcraft maybe is a good idea to check some of the tutorials that you can find here filtering by Packaging.

This could be a good starting point:

https://tutorials.ubuntu.com/tutorial/create-your-first-snap#0

I hope this helps :slight_smile:

Cheers!

Thanks for your reply… I am using ant plug-in in my project. But now I want to know how to make a snap from a .jar, so I use the simple example. But it din’t work. My snapcraft.yaml file is:

grade: stable
confinement: strict

apps:
  skide: