Snap does not have permission to use stage package

Hi. I’m new to snaps so please forgive me if I’m doing something stupid. I’ve just successfully packed my nodejs npm plugin snap using snapcraft and it successfully executes and runs properly on ubuntu 20.04 desktop. The problem lies when i install it on my ubuntu-core device. My nodejs app relies on a few apt packages that are defined In my stage-packages list, which looks like this:

stage-packages:
  - net-tools
  - ping

nodejs has no problem spawning arp -a from net-tools when running on my ubuntu desktop device, but when running on my ubuntu core device, I get a permission error:

2021-09-16 18:52 +00:00: (node:1155) UnhandledPromiseRejectionWarning: Error: Command failed: arp -a
2021-09-16 18:52 +00:00: /proc/net/arp: Permission denied

If anyone knows what I am doing wrong here, I would greatly appreciate any input. Thanks.

just guessing here (got no opportunity to test this atm.) but i think you might need the network-control plug or something similar for this

Yes, I have these plugs defined in the app:

plugs:
- network
- network-bind
- network-control
- network-manager
- network-observe
- network-setup-observe
- avahi-control
- avahi-observe
- gpio
- hardware-observe
- hostname-control
- io-ports-control
- locale-control
- location-control
- location-observe

that’s a bit overzealous :slight_smile: have you also connected all of them ? apart from network and network-bind nothing of these will auto-connect …

it might also help to ssh into a second terminal and run snappy-debug from the snappy-debug snap, that should give you interface suggestions (or show that there is no known interface for a certain access your app tries to make) …

I believe the plugs and interfaces are only for snaps. not the apt packages I’m trying to access. At least thats what it seems reading the docs. Do you think classic confinement would be something to consider here?