Requesting automatic alias for dotnet

Hey folks,

Have been working with Sergio &c at the rally in NYC to snap .NET Core. There is an SDK and Runtime piece which are invoked using the same command ‘dotnet’ followed by appropriate verbs and options.

alias dotnet-sdk dotnet
alias dotnet-runtime dotnet

dotnet is the ‘host’ (aka muxer) and has two distinct roles: activate a runtime to launch an application, and activate an SDK to dispatch commands to it. The host is a native executable and its supporting policy libraries (installed in host/fxr). There is typically only one host on a given machine, although that isn’t a strict requirement.

if both uses are backing onto the same command, dotnet, then why not create your snap as dotnet and expose that command as dotnet rather than having a dotnet-sdk and a dotnet-runtime both aliased to the name dotnet?

These are the user stories behind this decision:

• I am an application developer using the dotnet SDK to create apps locally on my computer/CI, hence I will install the SDK to do so.
  • I am a user of a compiled application, so I will install the dotnet runtime to execute my application.
  • I am an application developer creating a snap of my application, choosing to embed the runtime, the dotnet plugin would use the dotnet-sdk snap to build and add the runtime to the snap.
  • I am an application developer creating a snap of my application, taking advange of the content interface slots entry offered by the dotnet-runtime, the dotnet plugin would use the dotnet-sdk snap to build and add the runtime to the snap.

Some clarifications, it is just like java in this case, the SDK includes the runtime so users would generally not have both installed unless they are in a development/testing iteration cycle following that last user story I exposed.