Request for "classic" confinement for package Wilfred

Update: Since I posted this thread I have come to the conclusion that I need the classic confinement. Read the posts below.

Hi!

Before I start, I just want to say that I am quite new to this so please excuse me if this is the wrong place to post this type of request.

I have published the package Wilfred on the snap store, but up to this point only to the edge channel and with the confinement level set to devmode.

The project source code is available on GitHub. I am also using the snapcraft builds for building the snap packages.

Wilfred is a CLI that uses the hosts Docker installation to create containers (for game servers). That means the package has to have access to the users Docker “socket”.

I’ve tried to do this in my snapcraft.yml.

plugs:
  docker:

Is this the correct way to do it?

Anyway, the builds return the following message in my Snapcraft Dashboard: human review required due to 'allow-installation' constraint (bool) declaration-snap-v2_plugs_installation (docker, docker)

As far as I can see, this means that I have to request the ability to use the docker plug?

Thanks!

Yes, this is the correct way to do this, assuming your application talks to the docker socket directly rather than trying to use the docker command. If you need to use the docker command, you need to do an additional step, to declare a content interface plug that will connect to the slot from the docker snap to your snap so that the docker snap executables are accessible from inside your snap.

My application talks to the Docker socket directly. Is this forum category the right place to request authorization to use that “plug”?

Yes, your request is in the right place

Very well, then I would like to request authorization to use the Docker plug! :slight_smile:

Oh, I would also like to request the “network” interface (or is it called plug?). Just realized I need that as well! :smile: