Read only filesystem error

Hey everyone! snapcraft newbie here :wink:

I’m working to package a python application into a snap: https://github.com/snovvcrash/usbrip

So far, everything cool but the application itself has an “update” module which downloads a file from a website an store it locally in the application folder /snap/<snap_name>/x1/lib/python3.6/site-packages/<snap_name>/usb_ids but since the folder / filesystem is read-only this task cannot be performed.

I’ve tried also changing the confinement from devmode to classic but even so …

OSError: [Errno 30] Read-only file system: '/snap/<snap_name>/x1/lib/python3.6/site-packages/<snap_name>/usb_ids/usb.ids'

So I guess my question is how can a snap can write data into its application dir.??

If you can point me in the right direction pls.

Thanks in advance! -Xavier.

The file structure in your $SNAP directory is designed to be static, and is indeed mounted as R/O. Changing confinement doesn’t change that. You should put the file in $SNAP_DATA instead, which is writable.

Check out https://snapcraft.io/docs/environment-variables for more info on the different options you have here.

Finally, given what you’ve said above, I’m guessing you’ll also want to tweak your $PYTHON_PATH to include the new location of the additional module(s) you’re downloading

1 Like

mount / -o “remount,rw”

hilarious, but wrong. The filesystem is readonly. You can’t write to it.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply!

Sorry my late response but I’ve tried a lot of combinations lately that I’m really confused by now haha! …

According to the setuptools doc. there are a few methods you can use to define a custom installation directory if, for example, the python site-packages directory is not user writable :point_down:

https://setuptools.readthedocs.io/en/latest/easy_install.html#custom-installation-locations

For example by setting up the PYTHONUSERBASE env. variable and using the command:

~$ python setup.py --user