Questions about security of snaps

Hi, I’m not a developer, I’m just a normal user of snaps, and I have some questions about security because there are some things that are not clear to me from the general documentation (unless I missed something of course).

Snaps are supposed to be “secure” because they live in a container, and to be able to use some dangerous functions (like reading and writing from the file system) they need to be manually reviewed and approved. What I don’t understand is:

• If a developer is allowed to read or write a file in ~/appfile, are any subsequent changes to this permission going to be detected and blocked (requiring manual approval), or is the developer able to expand the reach of their permissions once an interface has been approved? In other words, I’m wondering if the approval process is continuous (and permissions must not change even one bit, otherwise a new approval is required), or if the approval process only happens at specific times (and after that a package is “trusted” and its permissions might change, even slightly, without other approvals). I don’t know if it’s clear. But a practical example would be a dev that has permission to write to ~/appfile, and later on in an update they decide they also want to write to ~/otherappfile. Will they be able to, without triggering another manual approval?
  • If a user changes the permissions for an application (using the snap command), when the application is updated are those permissions always going to be retained? Or can an application force its permissions after an update? In practice I’m wondering, if an app has permissions to connect to the audio interface, and I decide I don’t want it to connect to that interface (disconnect it), is it always going to remain disconnected then? Or after some update, it could “magically” become connected again?