Privacy questions

I am a layman, so not an expert in these matters.

I tried searching on the internet for answers, but could not find clear cut answers that I could understand.

(I do not know if I have selected the correct forum for these questions.)

1. I see on one of the Snap store pages a discussion telling developers of snap packages that “someone”, somehow, is collecting a bunch of data from people who install snap packages, and that this data can be reported to the developers in something like a dashboard report. Do all snap packages, by design, collect and report information to some entity (Canonical)? If so, how do I stop that collection from happening.

2. Are snap developers able to build in additonal data collection in their snap apps beyond that which Canonical built in to the core elements of all snap packages? If so, how do I stop that collection from happening?

3. How do I learn about the data collection and general privacy practice of each snap package? I looked on the snap store at a few random packages, I didn’t find anything that told me what, if any, data is collected.

4. How does the data collection and privacy practice of snap packages compare to flatpak packages?

My concern, as a layman, is that I don’t want applications collecting and sending information about my computer, etc. I am just now realizing that snap packages may be doing this. (I realize that the same problem may also exist with debian packages, but my mind is not put at ease by the thought of, Well, snap packages are no worse in this regard than debian packages.)

Thanks in advance for any help.

There are no privacy concerns here because nothing private is being collected. Snap record someone somewhere in a general region installed a package version on some distribution. That is all. Open any random website and you’ll give far more information than that.