Possible security issue? strict confinement snap can access home directory

I am very new to snaps and just finished this tutorial on creating your first snap -https://tutorials.ubuntu.com/tutorial/create-your-first-snap#0

So, I installed my hello snap on my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS machine with strict confinement, and both the hello and bash commands work. However, inside of the bash shell that the command starts, I can read and write to files in my home directory, even hidden ones like .bashrc. Is this supposed to happen? and if it is, isn’t it somewhat of a security risk?

Also, I double checked and the snap is not connected to the home interface. I am trying to learn more about snaps and how they work, so if anyone could explain to me how this works and why it happens I would be grateful.

That example uses confinement: devmode which is effectively unconfined for debugging purposes. devmode snaps cannot be published in the stable channel in the store.

Here’s a great blog post which covers this in some detail. https://snapcraft.io/blog/snapcraft-confinement-interfaces

Thank you for the quick reply, but as I said before I finished the entire tutorial and I changed the example snap’s confinement to strict in the yaml file and then rebuilt the snap, and it is still allowing me access to certain nonhidden and hidden files in my home directory.

Did you specify --devmode when you ran snap install with your snap? Did you also re-run snap install once you’d rebuilt the snap with confinement: strict in the yaml?

Can you please post the output of snap version?

Accessing non-hidden files is expected if you specify the home interface. As well as snap info (snapname), also snap connections (snapname) and let us know the path you use to launch the binary, would be helpful.

I did not specify --devmode when I installed it, and yes this was after I changed the yaml. Here is the output of snap version:

snap    2.39.2
snapd   2.39.2
series  16
ubuntu  16.04