Libreoffice writer crashes when Language Tool added

RE: LibreOffice 7.6.3.2. Tried again to add Language Tool(v 6.0)l. Impress and Calc work. However, Writer crashes. A document will open, the within a second or Writer crashes. PC is Dell Precision 7720 laptop. I am not an IT professional, but have had a PC on my desks since 1982 and six in various parts of my office. I am using snap version on 7720 as non-snap Calc will not open on 7720 laptop. I am a consultant in chemistry and toxicology, and I am writing not only reports for clients, but also for scientific journals. Language Tool is mission-critical.

I would appreciate a reply from members of this forum on how to fix the Language Tool problem. I should not have to reboot my 7720 and go into Win 11 and use MS Word to check my writing.

John

Hi @cigtoxdoc .

Try to execute libreoffice in safe mode and report the behaviour , here is the command :

libreoffice --safe-mode

Any way, you can remove libreoffice from snap, then install it via apt .

If you want to remove libreoffice from snap, you can execute this command(from your terminal) :

sudo remove --purge libreoffice

Then install it from apt via this below command :

sudo apt install libreoffice

Thank you very much. As I noted (or should have noted) in my first post, that LibreOffice Calc (non snap) will not open in normal mode. Safe mode works in both snap and non-snap, but kills the mission-critical extension: Language Tool (v 6.0). Also, starting in Safe Mode, even when asking it to save all my Tools Options data, said data was wiped out.

I can add inxi -Fz data, if you wish.

There are probably extensions that generate this bug . Normally you can save your documents in the safe mode if these last are not saved .

In the safe mode , the extensions are normally disabled. Perhaps you have to uninstall the extensions that generate the bugs.