Leaving Snapcraft for Flathub

I intend to never publish another piece of software on Snapcraft again, not because I don’t like it, I love Snapcraft, but because it’s fundamentally broken.

The Snap sandbox has broken my software on multiple instances, I have been publishing to Snap for three years now and in that time the Sandbox has caused bugs in 4 pieces of software I published.

When I raise issues concerning the Sandbox or any bugs Snap has introduced into my software on this forum I get no support, and I know debugging these issues is hard, but they are important. The sound issue I was having with the Borg I was ignored and over a year later posted about it a second time where it was acknowledged, it seems a little better now but not completely fixed. In three years, and I’ve said this before, it feels like no forward progress is being made, same bugs, same issues, and if anything is fixed it took too long. (too little too late)

Now I have found bugs caused by the sandbox in both Voxel Paint and Voxel Paint Pro.

The reason for me leaving is Quality Control. Snapcraft does not offer me this, it’s too much risk for me to upload software to a platform that will give the end user an unfair (buggy) experience of using it.

Also Flatpack/Flathub has visibly won over Snap in the Desktop applications space, it’s more popular among users (by a significant multiple of 5 at minimum) thus creating more exposure for publishers and it has a better sandbox that I’ve never experienced any issues with to date.

It’s been fun, shame it didn’t workout! I honestly don’t believe Snap has any future in the Desktop applications space and thus I hope it continues to flourish in the IoT space.

5 Likes

Is there any source backing that ? Am curious. :thinking: