Intel board CAN Bus Driver with insmod

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I’m a newbie to snapcraft, currently, I’m working on a project that requires me to install the CAN Bus driver to Ubuntu Core 20 with MIO 5373 intel board.

The board I’m using is Advantech’s MIO 5373, the CAN Bus driver source code is given by Advantech so that I can build the external module (can-ahc.ko) against kernel 5.4.0-73-generic. I built the .ko on my vmware’s ubuntu 20.04 against kernel 5.4.0-73-generic and copy it over to my MIO5373 board.

On the board, I tried to use the command below to insmod the can driver but it fails.
sudo modprobe can
sudo modprobe can-raw
sudo modprobe can-dev
sudo insmod can-ahc.ko (Fails here, the ssh terminal broken)

Upon checking “dmesg --follow” on monitor screen, it shows:
[ 393.963039] can: controller area network core (rev 20170425 abi 9)
[ 393.963055] NET: Registered protocol family 29
[ 396.795839] can: raw protocol (rev 20170425)
[ 399.720560] CAN device driver interface
[ 405.609551] can_ahc0512: no symbol version for module_layout
[ 405.612417] can_ahc0512: module verification failed: signature and/or required key missing - tainting kernel
[ 405.612951] RDC CAN: Module_init: platform driver version 5.0
[ 405.612952] RDC CAN: sizeof(char):1 sizeof(int):4 sizeof(long):8
*[ 405.612952] RDC CAN: sizeof(void ):8 sizeof(unsigned long):8
[ 405.612952] RDC CAN: moduleport_init:

It seems like it complains about the version, but the versions between the .ko and core 20’s are the same which is 5.4.0-73-generic. I tried on classic Ubuntu 20.04 (with kernel 5.8.0) and it works flawlessly.

I’m not sure if I’m doing any step wrong, is there a proper way to insmod the vendor’s CAN driver on Ubuntu Core 20?

Thank you!

Please forgive my bad English.

with the introduction of secureboot in UbuntuCore 20 by default for x86 hardware, all kernel modules need to be signed.