Installed Snap apps are not visible in Debian

Hello everyone!

I am a beginner when it comes to using Linux type OS. So my apologies when I am using a beginner/noob approach. I have recently reinstalled Debian 11 (Bullseye). After reinstalling the OS I installed snapd again.

After installing snapd I installed several packages but none of them are visible in de desktop environment. I have no clue were to look to find out what went wrong. Snapd confirms that they are installed but none of them show up in the desktop / software / synaptic.

I read multiple topics on this forum but none of them seems to match my specific problem. In the previous install of Debian 11 I did not have this problem. :frowning:

Does anyone have a tip/hint/advice on how to solve this (beginner/noob) problem?

Greetings from Eli!

did you log out after installing snapd ? the variables that make your desktop find the applications are being set at login time so you need to log out and back in after installing snapd to make this change take effect …

Yes off course. I saw this advice in the replies on similar topics and tried it. :slight_smile: But nothing changed. I also rebooted the OS.

what desktop environment are you using ? perhaps there are bits missing in your session or the graphical login manager ?

XCFE. I also looked in the GNOME desktop environment but there they are not visible either.

check the following variables:

$ env |grep XDG_DATA_DIRS
XDG_DATA_DIRS=/usr/local/share:/usr/share:/var/lib/snapd/desktop
$ env |grep PATH
PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games:/usr/local/games:/snap/bin

both of them should have snap related bits at the end of the output …

It seems they do not have the snap related bits. Below you can see the results of several commands. Some of them where used in other topics on this forum.

eli@ThinClient:~$ snap version snap 2.57.2 snapd 2.57.2 series 16 debian 11 kernel 5.10.0-19-amd64