Today I deleted chromium with the command ‘snap remove chromium’. I then realized that not only the snap was deleted but also all data (saved passwords, bookmarks, etc).
Actually nothing bad happened as it was only on a testing machine but is this really a wanted behavior??
Not only were my chromium data deleted but all chromium data from all users(!) on the system.
I can imagine even worse scenarios.
- To remove a mail app would delete all mails
- To remove a bitcoin wallet would delete all the money
I think the way apt handles this is way better. It strictly separates the program and the configuration. Is there any way to also get this behavior with snaps?
Extra question: What would happen if one user has an encrypted home directory? Would this prevent him from data loss if another user deletes a snap?