How to add video and audio codec support in Wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk snap?

Hello!

Recently I started to test wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk and I’m very surprised at how it works pretty well.

I’m a newbie using snap and I would like to know how I could add video/audio codecs support in this snap. I’m using https://html5test.com/ for checking and all video and audio codecs are unavailable.

Could someone help me?

This is something that would require modifications to the snap. The author of the snap may be able to help. @tobias?

1 Like

Hi @aroeira, glad to hear it’s working for you – except for the codecs. Which version of the snap are you using (revision + channel), and on which architecture?

Thanks @alan_g for the ping :blush:

EDIT: I just tested wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk on a Raspberry Pi (armhf) running Ubuntu Core, WPE snap from latest/stable: 2.30.5 / rev 56 Audio codecs all show “Yes” except Dolby Digital and Dolby Digital Plus, video codecs all “Yes” except H.265.

1 Like

Hi @tobias,

Thank you for the message and sorry for the long delay. I was moving to another place, and things became a little complicated.

I’ll test on RPi3, but my actual target is an intel Celeron (x86) with wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk 2.30.5.

channels:
  latest/stable:    2.30.5 2021-03-09 (54) 175MB -
  latest/candidate: 2.30.5 2021-02-25 (54) 175MB -
  latest/beta:      2.30.5 2021-02-25 (54) 175MB -
  latest/edge:      2.30.5 2021-02-25 (54) 175MB -
installed:          2.30.5            (54) 175MB -

Linux preview 5.8.0-50-generic #56~20.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Mon Apr 12 21:46:35 UTC 2021 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Ubuntu 20.04.2 LTS