Don't translate Snap Store name

It was in Launchpad, but no one paid attention.

I noticed that “Snap Store” is translated on application icon and source name to Russian.

Screenshot_20190614_101536

Screenshot_20190618_105414

I looked at .desktop file:

Screenshot_20190618_110804

Snap Store in different languages is named differently. This may confuse users, because brands usually aren’t translated.

1 Like

looks like somebody needs to have a word with the translators. On the other hand it’s possible it’s simply that some of the translations are older, and there was a name change? that happens as well.

Maybe @kenvandine is the right person to ask?

As a translator I would against doing so, IMO “Snap商店” is much friendlier than “Snap Store”. If the translation has problems, fix the translation.

1 Like

ah, yes, I took it as “don’t translate the ‘Snap’ in ‘Snap Store’”

1 Like

It sounds like the solution is to add a translator comment. I’m not a translation expert but here’s a proposal:

“This is a brand name, so consider if this should be translated. The Snap part should not be translated, and Store only if it doesn’t make sense in your language. See Install Linux apps using the Snap Store | Snapcraft for how it is translated on the web.”

It could be made non-translatable, but I expect there will be cases like the one shown by @Lin-Buo-Ren where it would not work without some form of translation.

Thoughts from experts welcome :slight_smile:

1 Like

Heyo, a translator here. Thanks for bringing this issue up.

I know for a fact that “Snap” is a Canonical trademark, so that part shouldn’t be translatable. However, I take issue with suggesting to disallow the translation of the “Snap Store” phrase. “Store” here is a generic term for an application distribution service, and making the full phrase English-only is an affront to people who don’t speak that language (and constitutes, in my opinion, even more Anglo colonization).