I’ve got an issue with Brave browser. When it is running while an update is made, the config folder remains attached to the previous build. So for example :
- When I start brave, the current folder is ‘160’ (in /home/user/snap/brave)
- While running, there is an auto-update, and the new current folder is now ‘161’
- When I make a new password, or bookmarks, etc… It is saved in the old ‘160’ folder
- So when I eventually restart brave, all data generated since the auto-update are ‘lost’ because it wasn’t saved in the new current folder.
So my first guess to avoid that issue was to disable the auto-update and make them manually when brave is not running. But it appears that it may not be possible. Can I disable auto-updates for this specific app ?
If not I would like to know how is it possible to do a kind of ‘hotswaping’ of folders, meaning that when an update is made while brave is running, that the data is saved in the latest config folder, not the one used when brave started. Is it possible ?
If you have an other approach to that issue I’ll consider it also.
Thanks by advance