Creating a snap of a bash script with multiple files

Hello,

I’m new to snaps.

I’ve written a bash script that executes a ruby script and I’m having trouble packaging it as a snap.

The image below shows my project folder:
snap_files

My project essentially has three files:
movies.sh
functions.sh
html_parser.ruby

movies.sh requires the other two files.

I don’t understand what I need to put in the snap.yaml file so that when I run snapcraft my snap will install and I’ll be able to execute it. Can somebody help? or perhaps show me a similar example?

You will need to add ruby to stage-packages in addition to any ruby modules you require:

name: mymovies
summary: movies thingy
description: >
  movies long description....
version: '0.0.1'

grade: stable
confinement: strict

parts:
  movies:
    source: .
    plugin: dump
    stage-packages:
    - ruby
    - a-ruby-module-package # just an example. either remove or change to a real package name

apps:
  mymovies:
    command: movies.sh
    plugs:
    - home # if you want to access your home folder?
    # ... any other plugs required for your script ...

Hi Daniel,

Thank you for the quick reply! The snap.yaml file you provided was very useful.

I tried to run snapcraft and I was instructed to add libc6 as a stage-package requirement. I then ran snapcraft with the libc6 package added to the snap.yaml file and it created the snap file (mymovies_0.0.1_amd64.snap).

I typed sudo snap install mymovies_0.0.1_amd64.snap --dangerous and it installed the snap. When I run the snap by typing mymovies I get the error: “Segmentation fault (core dumped)” - Do you know what could be causing this error?

Also, there are three requirements for my ruby script that I’m not sure how to install. I installed them on my computer using gem. The gems are nokogiri, xpath and csv. Is there a way to put gems as a required package with snap? How should I handle this?

My snap.yaml file is below:

summary: movies thingy
description: >