Control xdg-open/dbus with gtk2 application

Dear all,

Thank you for the great job you are doing supporting Snap technologies. It is a great job.

I’m an amateur packager of an application, which I like very much: WPS-Office. By doing so, I want to learn more about the technology underneath SNAP and Linux graphic interface.

This is a Chinese office, which works great on Linux. But since I’m a little cautious with confidentiality, I like to run it unplugged from the internet.

I’m working on Snapping the 2019 version of this software. I followed the doc for snapping a GTK2 application.

You can find the corresponding snapcraft.yaml here.

However, the package suffers from a certain number of problems I would like to fix, which are:

• I can’t open an office document from Thunderbird of Firefox
  • WPS is a multi-tab program. When I launch 2 different documents from Nautilus, I would like a single copy of the program to be opened, with the two tabs inside, and not two copies of the program.

Playing with firejail containment, I observed I could mimic the same behavior depending if I grant access or not to the /tmp folder. Looking at snapcraft documentation, I noticed this is not possible with snap, but I have to use xdg-open-portal instead.

If I understood correctly, it seems that this functionality is implemented in the gnome-3-28 part. So I tried to use the gnome3 part in my snap. The corresponding snapcraft.yaml could be found in a separate branch of my github.

This approach does not work. When I do this, Snap call the executable file (I did put an echo in the beginning of the bash file to make sure it runs) but WPS is not launched (or crash) without any noticeable error. It just keep running and have to be interrupted with Ctrl+C.

I re-read the doc for gnome-3 and it says that it will not work if the application is GTK2.