Catalyst-Live system-files and auto connect request for streaming from IoT device

We are building an IoT device that can stream video and 2 way communication for audio using WebRTC protocol.

This requires a couple plugs: alsa, audio-playback, audio-record, and camera.

Also, We ran into an issue where several system files are needed for ALSA (read only). /user/share/alsa/alsa.conf and /etc/asound.conf

This request is to provide auto connect and system-files access to Catalyst-Live.

this should be solved through an alsa part instead of a system-files interface … see:

1 Like

@ogra Thanks for the response.

I am new to snaps but this solution seems to has several major drawbacks. I do not want to maintain a separate version of ALSA. This means any bug fixes or security patches will require a new snap to be released, correct?

Let me know if there is a better way than having to maintain my own version.

@ogra I have made the changes outlined in the document you provided and that solved the issue with the missing file.

My next question is about the /etc/asound.conf file. This is needed to configure which device to stream the audio to/from. It seems it’s not able to read this file. I cannot package this with the snap since this is something the user can change.

I’m getting the error: Invalid CTL default and Invalid PCM default

What am I missing?

i think “needed” is a broad statement, i guess it is rather rare nowadays that people touch it (vs simply using something like pavuctrl (given that the majority of desktops nowadays integrates with pulse and you can tweak everything there))
i dont think ubuntu at least has shipped /etc/asound.conf in the last decade …

nontheless you are indeed correct that people can configure alsa through it and i guess it would make sense to add read access to that file directly in

@jdstrand was there any particular security concern why read access to /etc/asound.conf was not added to the alsa interface ?