Can't install snap on RHEL 7.6 or 8.1

I have tried both OS using Azure VM

Is always a similar error related to selinux. I have no experience with RHEL but the client is asking for it and I can’t install the tools I need without snap. Any ide how to force this install or download an rpm and install it directly?

Error: Package: snapd-selinux-2.54.1-1.el7.noarch (epel) Requires: selinux-policy-base >= 3.13.1-268.el7_9.2 Installed: selinux-policy-targeted-3.13.1-229.el7_6.15.noarch (@rhui-rhel-7-server-rhui-eus-rpms) selinux-policy-base = 3.13.1-229.el7_6.15

Thanks in advance

This error message fully describes the problem. The package in EPEL in epel requires the latest version of selinux-policy-base from RHEL7 which is 3.13.1-268.el7_9.2, while yours is selinux-policy-base = 3.13.1-229.el7_6.15. AFAICT RHEL 7.6 and 8.1 are already past their maintenance windows. EPEL packages are built only against the latest versions of RHEL releases, so you’d actually need to update to 7.9 or 8.4 (or 8.5?). I don’t know whether Azure provides those, best to get in touch with their support.

Alternatively you can grab srpms and just rebuild the packages yourself which is probably the easiest solution if you cannot update.

Thanks for your answer, I tried now with RHEL 7.9 and I can see those packages being installed but when I try sudo yum install snapd I get

Loaded plugins: product-id, search-disabled-repos, subscription-manager

This system is not registered with an entitlement server. You can use subscription-manager to register.

No package snapd available.

Error: Nothing to do

Is there something else I can try?

You need to add EPEL repositories first, see https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/epel/.

Sorry I meant I followed the steps from https://snapcraft.io/docs/installing-snap-on-red-hat

$ sudo rpm -ivh https://dl.fedoraproject.org/pub/epel/epel-release-latest-7.noarch.rpm
$ sudo subscription-manager repos --enable "rhel-*-optional-rpms" --enable "rhel-*-extras-rpms"