Cannot fetch subtitles on mpv

snap    2.27.6
snapd   2.27.6
series  16
ubuntu  17.04
kernel  4.10.0-35-generic

Lua script for fetching subtitles from the internet does not work. The script invokes a separately installed program called subdownloader to download an appropriate sub file into the location of a video file.

As a layman I can see two issues here, first, snap confinement prevents mpv from invoking other applications, and second, it does not have write access to the location where videos are stored (paths outside of $HOME; though I connected mpv to removable-media).

since the script fails immediately after I press the hotkey, I can only presume there is an issue with invoking subdownloader. If needed I can provide the script in question.

Any ideas on how to make this work will be much appreciated.

The snap info output says this is something from @casept.

@casept Can you help @v1kn here?

@casept I’ve overcome this issue is snaps of my own applications by bundling auxiliary applications in the snap and not exposing them via a command:

Alternatively you could snap any auxiliary applications separately and connect them via a content interface.

1 Like

@Wimpress The problem that might arise with this, is the inability to predict and/or package all possible auxillary applications that users might employ to extend mpv's functionality using lua.

As a workaround to this problem, I tried creating a bash script in $HOME/bin (it’s in the $PATH) that calls subdownloader, and pointed lua script to that bash script. Still didn’t work though.

1 Like

This is why I’m hesitant to utilize @Wimpress’s solution. I don’t think this can be solved for all use cases without changes in snapd that go against it’s design principles (for example, appending the host’s PATH to the snap and letting it access the binaries).

@casept Do You have any ideas for a workaround?