Building Custom Image for Pi CM3

I’m looking at using Ubuntu Core for an upcoming project and I’m just getting started with building a custom image so I can override the default device tree. To keep things simple, I’m just trying to build a default image using these instructions.

I’ve created a model assertion as follows:

{
  "type": "model",
  "authority-id": "xxxxx",
  "brand-id": "xxxxx",
  "series": "16",
  "model": "test-core-16",
  "architecture": "armhf",
  "base": "core",
  "gadget": "cm3",
  "kernel": "pi2-kernel",
  "timestamp": "2019-01-16T18:43:13+00:00"
}

After I sign this and try to build I get:

$ sudo ubuntu-image -c stable -O test-core-16 test-core-16.model
Warning: for backwards compatibility, `ubuntu-image` falls back to `ubuntu-image snap` if no subcommand is given
Fetching snapd
Fetching core
Fetching pi2-kernel
Fetching cm3
error: cannot use gadget snap because its base "" is different from model base "core"
COMMAND FAILED: snap prepare-image --channel=stable explore-m-16.model /tmp/tmp36omeagx/unpack

Also, if I try to specify a custom gadget snap like this:

{
  "type": "model",
  "authority-id": "xxxxx",
  "brand-id": "xxxxx",
  "series": "16",
  "model": "test-core-16",
  "architecture": "armhf",
  "base": "core",
  "gadget": "cm3_16.04-0.6_armhf.snap",
  "kernel": "pi2-kernel",
  "timestamp": "2019-01-16T18:43:13+00:00"
}

I end up with:

$ sudo ubuntu-image --extra-snaps cm3_16.04-0.6_armhf.snap -c stable -O test-core-16 test-core-16.model
Warning: for backwards compatibility, `ubuntu-image` falls back to `ubuntu-image snap` if no subcommand is given
error: cannot use snap "cm3_16.04-0.6_armhf.snap", parallel snap instances are unsupported
COMMAND FAILED: snap prepare-image --channel=stable explore-m-16.model /tmp/tmpgujm15xl/unpack

I’ve been digging around the documentation and understand what a parallel snap is, but I can’t figure out how to build this snap just for the CM3.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,