5 take-aways from 5 years of Snaps for IoT

In late 2017 I started playing around with Ubuntu Core, and soon after ended up deploying snaps to a fleet of IoT devices. Over the past 5 years, at my start-up (AMMP), we’ve used snaps to deploy software to several hundred dataloggers monitoring renewable energy systems in remote locations. I’ve had many reflections on the experience over this period, and I thought it’s time to share some of the main ones with the community.

My one-sentence takeaway is that I don’t think snaps are set up to be a serious contender in the IoT space. There aren’t many issues that make snaps fundamentally unfit for IoT (though there are some). What primarily worries me is that the direction of development - both past and present - appears to be geared towards improving the snap experience on the desktop. Truly cracking this is a major undertaking. And I believe that it will be fundamentally difficult to have a single package architecture that caters well to both desktop as well as IoT needs. The trade-offs are just too stark. I elaborate on this in the points below.

First, a couple of caveats:

Caveat 1: After trying to work with Ubuntu Core at the start, we did not use it in real-world deployments. Instead we installed snaps on top of other Debian-based OSes. This was for two reasons:

1. Due to functionality requirements, we use hardware from vendors like UniPi, Sfera Labs, and Moxa. Even though most of the units are Raspberry Pi-based, their peripherals are not natively supported by Ubuntu Core - and after some initial attempts, we determined that we don’t have the resources to do the relevant hardware enablement. It was more straightforward to use the vendor-supplied software images and device drivers, and install snaps on top.