Snap works on one machine but not on another

I’ve built my first snap (clementine-snap) and on one machine it works without flaw, as intended. On another machine, hmmm.

There’s a problem with missing libraries, which are called out in the yaml and don’t create a problem with machine 1. Machine 2, the app must be run via terminal (which is good as I can see the issues arise during startup) but the snap fails to load sometimes and crashes others.

BTW, both machines are Ubuntu 16.04.3 (Unity).

I am a bit confused as I am new to snapcrafting. Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Sounds like the snap is missing a few things that it’s able to find on Machine 1, but not Machine 2. I suggest you either use cleanbuild (snapcraft cleanbuild) which runs in a clean lxd container, or create a clean container yourself and run snapcraft within it. That will help tease out any libraries you’re missing in the YAML.

3 Likes

Also might want to paste the output of it working vs failing. If you post the yaml we can also test it.

3 Likes

You’re both right, it’s definitely deps.

Here’s a copy of my yaml (and thanks in advance BTW):

name: clementine-snap # check to see if it's available
version: '1.3.1.3' # check the version number of clementine's packages
summary: Clementine is a modern music player. # 79 char long summary
description: |
  Clementine is a modern music player and library organizer for Windows, Linux and Mac OS X.

grade: stable # must be 'stable' to release into candidate/stable channels
confinement: strict # use 'strict' once you have the right plugs and slots

apps:
  clementine:
    command: bin/clementine
    plugs:
      - network

parts:
  my-part:
    # See 'snapcraft plugins'
    plugin: cmake
    build-packages: