Snap Kdenlive cannot run in classic

I’m quite new to linux as a desktop. I switched to it few months ago. At first, I had poroblem with flatpack and snap (couldn’t use user folders in them). Then I found magic ‘–classic’ command which made those program access everything fine.

I spent half day trying to make a movie on kdenlive, and guess what? Kdenlive was not installed with classic, because i did not notice notification, that classic is ignored for strictly confined snap. So I lost few hours of my work.

I want to save my files where I want… I’m seriously starting to think about returning to windows… linux is fun, but all those snap problems with files are most frustrating.

Would be glad if someone could point in direction, how to setup snap so it can access home/user/Videos

I hope you know what I mean. Working whole day on a movie, then not being able to save it to disk.

Welcome. Two things. Firstly, users shouldn’t try and force non-classic snaps to run in classic “mode”. It just won’t work right. Classic and non-classic snaps are built fundamentally differently, it’s not just a flag you turn on/off at install time I’m afraid.

Secondly, by default, the Kdenlive snap has access to home which means it should be able to write to /home/user/Videos/ just fine. It also has removable-media auto-connected which means it can write to mounted USB keys and hard disks too.

So I don’t quite understand why, on a normal install, it wouldn’t be able to write there.

Hello popey, thanks for response!

I can open folder, navigate to Videos. Type name of a file and click “Open” (strange it’s not “Save”).

I’m in good folder etc. Everything seems fine. I click Save, and when I go to “Open recent” path is completly different. “/run/user/1000/doc/{hash}/myfilenam.kdenlive”. So I get magically redirected somewhere else.