Keeping user profile / settings across version upgrades

Hi there,

I’m new at this — I did go through the docs and couldn’t find much that is relevant, so apologies if this is answered elsewhere conclusively.

We’re using Snap to ship a software that stores data and user’s own profile in the user’s local machine. For the time being, we don’t have it in the snap store, we’re delivering it unsigned, the user needs to install it with the --dangerous flag.

We do update our app fairly often. Whenever those upgrades happen, the user removes the app via snap remove [appname] and installs the new snap.

Unfortunately what seems to happen is whenever the user upgrades, we seem to lose the user profile. Our user profiles include a private key, so upgrading the software in Linux does came with a significant risk of losing your private keys if you don’t back them up beforehand.

Is there any way for us to actually save our config data to the user’s ~ instead of within the snap sandbox, so when the user migrates to a new version, the data is not obliterated by snap remove [appname]? In short, we want the user data to survive a version update.

I do realise installing snaps with the —dangerous flag is for developers and (far as I can see) not intended as a way to ship software to the end users. However, it does work with our app, and we would prefer to not create a dependency on Canonical’s servers if at all possible.

Is the snap remove really necessary? It should be possible to just snap install --dangerous the new snap. That way nothing is deleted from the user’s machine.

Also it should be possible to sign your app and distribute the .snap and .assert file, which would eliminate the need to do --dangerous

1 Like

I thought remove was mandatory while upgrading. Thanks for the tip!