How to give my snap access to user files (images specifically)?

Firstly, I apologize if this isn’t the correct category. This is my first time creating snaps and using this forum :sweat_smile:

I recently created this command-line tool and thought I’d make it available as a snap to reach the widest user-base and ease of installation: https://github.com/TheZoraiz/ascii-image-converter

However, I’ve ran into a problem where the confinement: strict setting in snapcraft.yaml restricts the snap’s access to user files. Now given how the app needs access to images to convert them into ascii art, this is a bit of a problem. Furthermore, there is also a flag on the app which writes the ascii art in a .txt file, so I’ll need write access as well.

I’ve seen two solutions to this but don’t know which one is more appropriate.

Either I can use confinement: classic and wait for review, but it seems like an overkill for a simple cli app and I’ve seen posts where people say it won’t work for base: core18 ? Would appreciate it if someone could clarify this as well.

Or I can use personal-files interface to have access to the user’s $HOME directory, but apparently that seems to only work with specific directories inside the $HOME directory and I can’t choose the $HOME directory’s access itself (testing in --devmode gave me warnings).

I’m confused about the steps to take here. Would really appreciate if someone could guide me through this. Thanks for your time :slight_smile:

You can plug the home interface, which grants access to all the files in a users $HOME except those which belong to another snap (e.g, other snaps $SNAP_USER_COMMON and the like) or are top level hidden files or directories. This interface connects by default when declared.

1 Like

@James-Carroll Thank you! That seems like the perfect solution and it’s working just fine :slight_smile: The interface doesn’t give hidden images’ access yet, but I suppose that’s acceptable.