How to best add default config to a snap without rebuilding?

I am building a simple kiosk based on mir-kiosk and wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk and need to set the config variable “url” for the wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk to “https://mysite?id=CPUID”.

I have successfully combined core18 + mir-kiosk + wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk into a custom image, but I still have to run this command interactively to set the URL after install:

id=$(cat /proc/cpuinfo|egrep "Serial.*: "|awk ‘{print $3}’);snap set url=https://mysite/?id=$id

Being a snap amateur I tried to do this in the install/configure hooks before I realized that this goes against the idea of containment and “snapctl” only has access to the context of my mysite-wpe-webkit–mir-kiosk snap.

Failed install hook:
#!/bin/bash
id=$(cat /proc/cpuinfo|egrep "Serial.*: "|awk ‘{print $3}’)
snapclt set wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk url=https://argus.skead.no/?id=$id

1. What would be the most correct way to do this (beside rebuilding wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk with a hardcoded default), and
  2. what would be the quickest and ugliest hack to do this?

A snap declaration via a brand store or a default setting for wpe-webkit-mir-kiosk in a gadget snap … here is some write-up where I create an UbuntuCore kiosk with various defaults set via the gadget snap:

Quickest: manually create a script (not as snap) that calls snap set ... and manually create a systemd unit that calls the script on boot (checking with snap get ... if the value needs changing) …

Ugliest: create a static visial-basic binary that you wrap in a wine snap to call snap set and install it in --devmode, then create a pyhon script that provides a REST API outside of the snap with a systemd unit that runs it as a deamon, hook that REST API up to an excel sheet on your desktop and set the URL from there via an unportable microsoft office macro… :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

2 Likes

Absolutely LOVE the ugliest hack. :slight_smile:

Not entirely what I was aiming for, but a highly entertaining read…