Google Assistant snap (python + sound problems)

I’m a total beginner to please be gental.

I’m trying to build a snap that can build on Google Assistant. I naively thought I could just include

google-assistant-grpc, google-assistant-sdk, google-auth-oauthlib[tool], tenacity , sounddevice

As python packages, add pulseaudio as a plug and have a working system. Seems sound in a python snap is a bit tricky, can anyone tell me in broad terms what I’d need to do to get things working?

Currently, attempting to run google’s push to talk sample produces this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/snap/ga-matt-test/x12/bin/googlesamples-assistant-pushtotalk”, line 7, in
from googlesamples.assistant.grpc.pushtotalk import main
File “/snap/ga-matt-test/x12/lib/python3.5/site-packages/googlesamples/assistant/grpc/pushtotalk.py”, line 32, in
from . import (
File “/snap/ga-matt-test/x12/lib/python3.5/site-packages/googlesamples/assistant/grpc/audio_helpers.py”, line 25, in
import sounddevice as sd
File “/snap/ga-matt-test/x12/lib/python3.5/site-packages/sounddevice.py”, line 2678, in
_initialize()
File “/snap/ga-matt-test/x12/lib/python3.5/site-packages/sounddevice.py”, line 2634, in _initialize
_check(_lib.Pa_Initialize(), ‘Error initializing PortAudio’)
ffi.error: symbol ‘Pa_Initialize’ not found in library ‘’: /snap/ga-matt-test/x12/usr/bin/python3: undefined symbol: Pa_Initialize

Thanks

try adding “libpulse0” to your stage-packages …

Also, feel free to post your snapcraft.yaml for us to help with. Make sure to paste it inside three backticks so it shows as code - then it’s easier to copy/paste. Also note you may need to set some environment variables for pulse to work but as ogra suggests, add libpulse0 to stage packages first.

Yeah, I was just digging out my yaml when your post appeared. Not including it was pretty stupid.

name: ga-matt-test 
version: '0.3.3'
summary: Google assistant client for rPI
description: |