Accessing various files within a snap

Hi,
I am new to snaps. I have been fiddling with creating a snap for openscap
and have hit a problem I am not able to readily figure out… I am using
snapcraft, version 2.42.1.

The oscap command in my snap requires schema files that usually live in
/share/openscap/schemas. This directory path is hardcoded in the oscap code using the prefix
set by configure script. When I attempt to run my snap, I get the error,

OpenSCAP Error: Schema file ‘xccdf/1.2/xccdf_1.2.xsd’ not found in path ‘/share/openscap/schemas’ …

I do see this file in the directory in my prime/share/openscap/schemas. I also see it in my /snap/openscap/current directory. But how do I direct the command to this path in snap? I took a look at command-oscap.wrapper… I am not sure what it is I am missing. Any guidance on how to handle this is much appreciated. Hopefully I have given enough info, if not, please let me know. Thanks!

regards,
Joy

By default snapcraft set’s the installation prefix to empty_string, that’s why the regular hardware-independent data files is searched from /share instead of /usr/local/share (the usual default /usr/local is stripped). If you install the part without any configuration, it should install hardware-independent data to /snap/snap_name/current/share, which is $SNAP/share in runtime.

If the snapped application itself supports relocation (i.e. not using hardcoded paths), it should locate it’s data files from any of the XDG_DATA_DIRS, which should be set properly by the desktop-launch script of the snapcrafters/snapcraft-desktop-helpers:

apps:
  audio-recorder:
    command: desktop-launch audio-recorder

REFER: Prepend $SNAP/share to XDG_DATA_DIRS by Lin-Buo-Ren · Pull Request #121 · ubuntu/snapcraft-desktop-helpers